Favouritism and We.

Ah! Another year passed by. With so much happening around and still reluctant to focus upon the trivialities, here I’m, striking the keys again spewing out my thoughts in this unknown virtual world.

A lot has happened since my last post, and I failed again, to change myself, I failed to move out of my shell, I failed to be the guy I admire, I failed to have that genuine smile, I failed to be the force. The force I crave to be. The force I dream to be. The force I aspire to be.

The world has taught us many things, and one among them is trust, hard to earn and harder to find. The world drives upon favouritism which is momentary. Everything changes in a flash, and nobody realises. The emotional ones quote ‘People Change’, but these minds fail to acknowledge that they are people too. A river never runs along a single shore.  It would be too extreme to say that there is no ‘love’ in this world but only ‘like’. Unfortunately, there is somewhere a little growing truth in this statement. People do love each other; I strongly believe that, but they fail to differentiate the harsh realities from the sweet lies.

Whatever be the situations, we take stand for the people who are currently our favourite, without considering the rational thought about our decision. This has led to the failures at the global level let alone talking at an individual level. This is not because we love that person more than anyone else but just that we are not strong enough to let the deserving be.

One of the extreme stands was taken by Ayn Rand-quoting “I swear by my life and my love of it that I will never live for the sake of another man, nor ask another man to live for mine.” in Atlas Shrugged. But thinking of it, it’s a rational statement. Why let others live at the expense of ours? Huh? You have to be too cold to be that person, and it is not a human trait. It’s all about pulling people up but only the deserving ones and not the ones we like.

In the same novel, she puts “Contradictions do not exist. Whenever you think that you are facing a contradiction, check your premises. You will find that one of them is wrong.” That is so true. I never understood the word dilemma; it’s a people introduced word to name their confusion and let their thinking be, without attempting to broaden it.

The concept of favouritism has grown deep roots in our society and is affecting the race starting from an elementary level. It has blended with our culture, and we did not even acknowledge it but continue to debate about it.

There are never two people having the same capabilities; one will always be better. We need to acknowledge the better one without considering other aspects. It’s as simple as that.

But in the end this is all ideal, we humans cannot do that, it pains from inside to see the loved ones fall back. Humans!!!

 

Leave a Reply

